9 Books in September 2015

September was the month when I was quite busy, so I did not have enough time to read and read and read.  Although it’s been my habit to read anytime and anywhere, my  bod can’t abide by my mental desire.  Besides, I don’t want to appear to be derelict in my job.

Most of the reads I dabbled in are more on poems by Lewis Carrol and Edgar Allan Poe, some Roald Dahl’s short stories, a memoir, and a non-fiction:

  1. Taste by Roald Dahl ( 1 star ): I promised to read Roald Dahl’s short stories .  Unfortunately, I got on the wrong foot; I did not like it much. Maybe, I want to read something  as morally  adhering as his Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. Nevertheless, I  have proven that he has these skills in  twisting a short story as what readers and fans of his put.

2. Jabberwocky by Lewis Carrol ( 5 stars ) A poetic short story beyond my imagination and understanding because of its Shakespearean-like  style of writing. Lewiss Carrol created  the words  students in this generation may not be familiar with. Cool! I love this kind of story.  ^__^3. The Bells by Edgar Allan Poe ( 5 stars ) Another poem by Edgar Allan Poe that impressed me  because of its onomatopoeic content.  I enjoy reading   poems with imaginative sounds. Clang! Clang! Clang!

4. Love is a Fallacy by Max Shulman ( 4 stars ) I was impressed by how Max Shulman wrote a story using the  different kinds of illogical fallacies. It’s WOW! I love LOGIC 101. As a matter of fact, it has been adapted for a movie. Ooh la-la!

5. Man from the South by Roald Dahl ( 3 stars ) My third short story by Roald Dahl. At this point, he  has knocked me dead. I loved how he made this suspenseful and full of intense. However, I was disappointed at the ending.  Sorta leaving a reader hanging in the air. Just that!

6. Jungle of No Mercy : A Memoir of a Japanese Soldier  by Hiroyuki Mizuguchi( 5 stars ) The author’s spectering  experiences make it an easy read. In addition, it  has something to do with Filipino life during the Japanese occupation of the Philippines, so I can relate to the author’s accounts. I doubt if it could be adapted  for a movie as sensational and critically acclaimed as Heneral Luna.  ^_^

7. The Soldier by Roald Dahl ( 2 stars ) Its outlandish story could be impressive had Dahl not written it with sprawling plot. In the end, I got lost. What was it? May be  I have gotta read it again!

8. My Lady Love, My Dove by Roald Dahl ( 2 stars ) My fourth short story by Dahl that made me stop my reading marathon. (sighs) Ok, taken that he is indeed skillful in writing stories but  I guess I am no longer a child or teen-ager to buy this story . Hmmm… I’ll take it into account next time. @_@

9.The Republic by Plato ( 5 stars ) The first book  of the Philosophy Book Club which  I joined recently . Whoa! Upon reading it, I was like a Greek scholar in the past boggled at the philosophical topics discussed by Plato.  Nonetheless, I  enjoyed ;and at the same time, was challenged by the wide-range  contents. I can do it more! The next book for the month of October is The Nicomachean Ethics by Aristotle. @_@

So far I have read three books which  I will be posting next month. I am more passionate about reading this month. Also, I am raring to finish the books on my currently-reading-shelf which for sure have been collecting dust bunnies . Gee!

Happy Reading, buddies! ^__^

 

 

Leave a Reply

