I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban by Malala Yousafzai : A Book Review

“I don’t want to be thought of as the “girl who was shot by the Taliban” but the “girl who fought for education.” This is the cause to which I want to devote my life.” 
― Malala Yousafzai
I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban

malalaThe day Malala was in the  news headlines  catching the attention of the world , I remembered  myself  back on my younger years when I was still so idealistic,  wanted to make a big difference  by helping survive the dying  Mother Earth  and educate the youth as well.  Malala invigorated that desire. Then,  I  kept track of  her personal life . I watched  her  on CBS news  and even  her speeches and TV guest appearances on Youtube. I will not forget her speech at the U.N where she expressed her desire to   continue her  fight for  girls’ right to education.  In fact,her closing statement marked in my memory, “One child, one teacher, one book and one pen can change the world.” Her speech made me cry and clap many times as though I belonged to the audience in the chamber surrounding her in awe.Then in 2013, her autobiography was launched . However, I was so frustrated that I was not able to buy it yet because of its exorbitant price. After a few years, I’ve got my own copy and  read it with gusto. In the end, I fathomed Malala more. I was moved to the bone and shattered at my reading chair.

I revere Malala not only because she was shot by Taliban for speaking up for the right of girls but also because she was very young , at the age of 16 , to get silenced. I may sound ignorant of the current and affairs around the world, but who can imagine that a young girl like her living in one of the tumultuous lands on earth was able to stand up to a group who could have almost killed her? I have known some admiring people who have been staunch for their causes, but so far Malala is one of the most incredible  persons I have known in my generation.

Reading this book  sounds like the author is an old adult who has grown up a lot  , for she  is too mature to speak of the miserable situations in the world. She is so smart that she understands her rights. However, you may realize that the author turns out to be as young as your  niece or cousin – Malala is also an ordinary girl like the other girls playing outdoor games, fond of watching romantic movies and dramas, interested  in reading books .  Think of her as a young lady, but take her seriously. She really means business.

Aside from the fact that  she  has the courage of her own convictions, there are the other sides of Malala that made me grin from ear to ear. She likes studying a lot. She is always eager to learn the things she has not understood yet.  That is why she is  academically  competitive but intellectually humble. In fact, she likes History and Physics.  The cute thing is she is a big fan of Twilight and other books about vampires. Also, she likes journalistic writing and is a nature lover as well. But the most important thing I have learned from   her is to stand up for your rights.

Before, I  wanted to be an environmentalist. I wanted to help the famous Filipino environmentalist, Chin-Chin Gutierez, on her advocacy of surviving the Mother Earth. I started   in  little ways. However, I lost interest and courage to do so when everything in our society turns out to be so powerful that I could be run over. Nevertheless, when I read Malala’s story, since then, I said I want to do it again. I hope I can do it again, for life on this earth is so infinitesimal.

“Life isn’t just about taking in oxygen and giving out carbon dioxide.” 
― Malala Yousafzai
I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban

Rating: 5/ 5 stars ( It’s amazing.)

Leave a Reply

