My Top Ten Favorite Books in 2015

2015 was the year when I took an active part in Goodreads. I set my reading goal as many as 200 books; however, I failed to do so due to my hectic job schedules. In the end, I decided to read as many as 160.

I enjoyed many books last year. At the same time, I discovered new genres and met new authors I had turned back on before. I enjoyed reading some  Sam Harris’s books  which sharpened my critical analysis. Finally, I read some books I had not been able to read on account of their exorbitant prices. Then, somehow, I was able to keep up with a few  best-sellers.

For local books, I buried myself in some Danton Remoto’s and  Carlos Bulosan’s books. In fact, it was a revelation to me that Isagani Cruz turns out to be a critically acclaimed writer in the Philippines. So, I will read his other works. ^_^

Among the books, here are my top ten favorites that had significant  impact on me:

martian

  1. The Martian by Andy Weir.  I love a Sci-Fi dealing with astronomy and NASA.

dahl9. Boys Tales Children by Roald Dahl. I am fond of reading books about someone’s memoir or semi-autobiography, especially if the theme is more on education

This one by Roald Dahl is said to be his childhood experiences. I liked the book because it deals with the rotten educational system Dahl experienced when he was young.

invisible man8. Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison. I had put it aside for a few months before I found out why it is included on TIMES’ best novels of all time since 1923. When you read it, it will make you go mad at the Whites  the time  they discriminated against Blacks. Besides, I liked the fact that there is a psychological tactics behind it.

albert7. The Stranger by Albert Camus. A deep book which can lead to different perspectives. In my case, I cried over it because I saw myself in the main character. Besides, I like the philosophy bespoken in the story which might shatter the “in-the-know” readers .

secret6. The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett.  It is one of my most favorite children books. I like and miss gardening, so I am riveted on how the secret garden centers around the story.

malala5. I am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and was Shot by the Taliban by Malala Yousafzai. This is an inspiring story which provoked my desire to stand up to injustice.

4.Atheism : The Case Against God by George H. Smith. If you are a militant atheist like Richard Dawkins, read it. This is a perfect guide how you can debate well with an apologist 

3. Si Janus Silang #1 and 2 by Edgar Calabia Samar. This is definitely one of the reasons why I love to read Philippine literature more. A book series I will follow up with as what happened to those Harry Potter and Twilight fans. Hooray, I can’t wait for its book 3 in September! ^_^

2.God Delusion by Richard Dawkins. I have read this twice;one time in 2014 , my second time last year. I really love this book because I look up to Richard Dawkins, along with Sam Harris  and Christopher Hitchens , some of whose  books were also on my read-list last year. He is a very candid and audacious atheist who has never been dauntless in expressing his opinions and thoughts.

This book can change someone’s perspectives on religion- a perfect manifesto to break distorted religions anyone may not be aware of .

This year, I will  include it on my to-read list  again.

antonia

1.My Antonia by Willa Cather . I will never forget this book. I will even recommend it to anyone. In fact, this is the novel why I decided to watch its musty movie adaptation which main roles were played by young  Patrick Nick Harris as Jimmy Burden  and by Elina Löwensohn as Antonia Shimerda.

The book is so beautifully and purely written that I did not even hold it down until I got dismayed at the climax. Besides,this reminds  us  of the grim lesson that life is a matter of moral consequence.

This year, I took the challenge to read as many as 150 books. Originally, I wanted to make it to 200 books again. However, I am worried that my teaching job might be the big impediment to this goal. Jeez, Good luck to me!

Happy Reading, buddies!

5 thoughts on “My Top Ten Favorite Books in 2015

Leave a Reply

