Ang mga Kaibigan ni Mama Susan by Bob Ong: A Book Review

14233676_10207356746858698_1492984021_o

The first book written by Bob Ong  that led me to the portal of his idiosyncrasies is Bakit Baliktad Magbasa Ng Libro Ang Mga Pilipino?  I was impressed by his ways of writing out his ideas or opinions in a conversational way. Reading it was like an editorial article full of facts but funny, intended not only for young but also old adults . Besides, I sensed his  hidden blaze of nationalism. Amused, I borrowed Macarthur from my cousin who happened to be his avid reader. After that, I was magnetized again because the theme is not that as deeply  and humorously academic and journalistic as the former one but, instead, it is a simple story that young readers may never forget because it reflects the social problem with illegal drug. The story is so worth remembering. No wonder when you ask a young avid fan about which Bob Ong books his/ her favorite is. I bet my boots that it is one of them. And please, count me in. The  very thought of the sachet of  crystal meth floating  in the pooped bowl  repulses me!

I was in university when I got the opportunity to read another Bob Ong book. Another Bob Ong fan lent me some of his other works. I got the good chance of reading Stainless Longganisa . But I admit that I found it pretty boring. It is just a story of how a writer struggles with completing his book or having it published.  If it is so, why did Bob Ong make it more complicated with his satirical dramas?  He could have just written it in the other way around. But who am I to cast aspersion on his writing style? Walang basagan ng trip.This is his trademark.

I was disappointed more after reading his other books such as Ang Paboritong Libro ni Hudas  and Kapitan Sino .  They almost have the same pattern. The situation is like all Bob Ong has to do is to strike up a witty conversation with me ,with his satirical sentiments and dramas. Thereafter, I got sick and tired of Bob Ong. Nakakasawa na. I promised myself then that I would not read another Bob Ong books.

I tried to read another Bob Ong when  friends of mine  gave me an intriguing  idea of Ang mga Kaibigan ni Mama Susan . My friends said that it is a scary one. HmmmAnother friend tampered with my febrile imagination claiming that she could not sleep it off. After burying myself in it for the whole night, yes!  My friends did not prove me wrong. I was horrified. Somehow, it scared me so witless that I would it put down when I did not want to read what would happen next. I did not want to picture how the scenes look like. Then, my hair stood on end when I patched all the puzzling parts together. Gee, that’s why?  A typical reaction when you have come to understand everything. Who won’t forget the scene when the grandma who is supposed to be dead gets up from its bed to approach Galo, the protagonist? Who regretted reading the Latin phrases at the end of his each diary? How about the secret room in where the human –sized saints are kept ?

The story is clearly manipulating because Bob Ong intended to play our imagination. All the settings are mixed. He intended to lead us in some parts which turn out to  be the  linchpin of the  horror. For instance, Galo also makes us  read the Latin phrases he reads out of curiosity. Even though I didn’t understand the words, I still kept on reading them. But , in the end, I deeply regretted doing so. You should not read them if I were you. It is a warning. Plus, the twins, Jezel and Niko .Potek,I thought they were just ‘saling pusa’.

I was first confused with some information with which Bob Ong padded in the story. For instance, the date of the setting is in 1998. But MTB, a famous noon-time show ,was not aired in that year yet. Another thing is a high-tech computer. As far as I know, high-tech computers were unveiled in the 2000’s. There are some more happened in the 2000’s Bob Ong played back in the 1990’s. Thus, I inferred that Bob Ong loves to scrabble all the things that happened from different generations.

My friend speculates that Bob Ong may have written it off the cuff. He may have dabbled in writing it in a corner without any specific theme on his mind. So, his publisher may have ignored it and still seen its potential to give his readers the creeps knowing that he has established a name in the market.  Or she may have meant to say that the story begins with Galo’s “nega moments”; then, all of a sudden, it segues into a horror part. Thus, the book appears to be inscrutable because she is not sure what Bob Ong may want to imply in this book since all his books appear to have satirical meanings. But apparently, one of the insinuations could be that anyone can have a Cinderella life. Of course not! Galo does not have a Princess Charming.( laughs)

Somehow, there are good points in the story that caught my interest aside from the “katatakutan” moments. I liked the philosophical conversations between  Mama Susan and Galo although I find them obscure and irrelevant to whatever Bob Ong wants to preach to us. Besides, if it were not Mama Susan’s revelation about Galo’s past , I would really have demoted Bob Ong to all  wannabe writers (like me)  by giving it one  out of 5 stars on Goodreads.  Fiddlesticks! I wish I read books literally.

As a matter of fact, after reading it, I don’t want to give it a try again nor flip through its pages  given that I found it not that really scary . Perhaps, I just don’t want to read the Latin phrases anymore. Gee, it is the impact on me!

Warning: Please, don’t read the Latin phrases.  Just skip them.

Rating: 3/ 5 stars ( I liked it.)

 

2 thoughts on “Ang mga Kaibigan ni Mama Susan by Bob Ong: A Book Review

  1. Hi there! I found a fellow Bob Ong fan! Hahah. I actually did like all of his works and read 9 of his 10 books so far. (Believe it or not, Lumayo Ka Nga Sa Akin, is just not very appealing for me. Make me forget that its cover is pink, I will pick it up. LoL) I liked Stainless Longganisa because of one of reasons you mentioned; it’s blandness. That’s what writing is, sometimes, isn’t it? One minute you could write a really great piece, the next minute you get inside this ‘boring bubble’ and you don’t know how to get out of it. Stainless Longganisa reminded me a lot of what it feels like to be a writer. How lonely the profession is; the rejection; the solitary successes; etc. There was one line he said, “Akala nila ang mga writer ay mayayabang, pero sa totoo lang ang mga manunulat ang pinaka-humble sa mundo” (Or something like that. Hehe). I was searching for Bob Ong books, btw. That’s how I came across your blog. Nice post!

    Shout-out. Have you read his new book “Si”? It’s a refreshing take on love. Not like the love story in Kapitan Sino. I actually did enjoy the romance on this one. If you had, what are your thoughts?

    Have a great day!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hello! 🙂 Thank you for your heart-felt comment!

      Actually, I still wasn’t a fan of Bob Ong before his last book Si captivated me. This book caught my respect. 🙂 Here is my ‘sarcastic’ review of it. https://theapostatebookbore.wordpress.com/2016/10/05/si-by-bob-ong-a-book-review/?wref=tp

      Besides, Bob Ong is now one of the big influences on my desire to be a writer. So, I’ve always wanted to read his other books, especially Lumayo Ka Nga Sa Akin which a lot of my Bob-Ong friends find worth reading.
      Bye the way,I dropped by on your blog. I can see that you even have the deep-seated desire to be a writer. Keep it up! I hope you can also write your very own masterpiece!! Good luck!!! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

