The Queen and her Indian Servant

Image result

Its movie trailer sparked my interest when I was inside a movie theater waiting for the showing of a juvenile film during  the weekend. This is the kind of movie I have wanted to watch since I’m now sick and tired of ones that are more on fantasy and cruel and bloody action. I was even more surprised to find out that it is based on a biography written by Shrabani Basu: Victoria And Abdul: The True Story Of The Queens’ Closest Confidant. So, it is another book on my list  I’m going to find  in my stomping ground. I wish to beat it to its movie showing in September. I’m  fairly sure that if the movie becomes a hit, the price of the book  will be diabolical. But, I’d be better off watching the film first .There are times that I throw my arms in dismay when the film turns out to be terrible after reading  the book .

Image result for victoria and abdul by shrabani basu

One of the reasons why it caught my attention is that its theme is about the real-life friendship between the Queen and her  Indian servant. I do love movies, music, and books that deal with friendship.

The story is about Abdul Karim who arrives from India to take part  in Queen Victoria’s golden jubilee. He will be surprised to win favor with the queen herself. When their friendship deepens, the queen begins to realize a lot of things about her life. Abdul will be a teacher while the Queen , his student. 

Its initial release is scheduled in the UK on September 15, 2017.

The movie is starred by Judi Dench as Queen Victoria and Ali Fazal as Abdul Karim, the queen’s servant.

As of yet, no information has been available when it is going to be shown in some Asian countries including the Philippines.

I may not be a movie snob but this is something new to me. So, I’m now looking forward to its showing!  🙂

Leave a Reply

